CSU Police Department's Weapon Storage

Colorado State University students residing in the residence halls are required to check-in firearms or other weapons to the Colorado State University Police Department. We provide a safe, secure storage location for your firearms.

Please note the following information:

Students residing in any university housing MUST check-in and store any firearms with the CSUPD in Green Hall. There is a $20.00 fee for the rental of a locker for the year. Here is the firearms storage agreement: CSUPD Gun Storage Agreement. You must supply your own lock.

Other weapons (e.g. sword, fencing equipment, archery bows, paintball guns, taser guns, slingshots, etc.) must also be stored at CSUPD for free.

If applicable, weapons should be put in a protective case, preferably a hard case.

Explosives of any nature, including fireworks or flammable liquids are strictly prohibited in the residence halls or on campus. CSUPD will not store explosives.

Firearms may be checked in or out 24 hours, 7 days a week, but it is strongly recommended that you plan ahead and allow for a 30-45 minute wait time. Officer availability is limited after business hours and may cause extensive delays.

Upon checking in a firearm, you must bring a photo ID for identification purposes. A pick-up tag with the firearm information will be given to you at the time of check-in. It is mandatory that you have a photo ID AND your firearm tag to pick-up your weapon.

IMPORTANT: You MUST pick up your weapon(s) on or before the last day of the spring semester. Failure to do so may result in the disposal of your weapon.

For more information, contact the CSUPD at 970-491-7695.

Colorado Concealed Handgun Permit

Having a Concealed Handgun Permit (CHP) on Campus

Individuals carrying concealed handguns must have a lawful Colorado concealed weapons permit issued by a Colorado sheriff in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute 18-12-206. However, concealed handguns may not be carried or stored in any of the Residence Halls, CSU Apartments, Health Network Facilities, and Residence Life Dining Centers. For more information on Colorado’s laws pertaining the concealed weapons permits, please click here.

CHP Reciprocity

Pursuant to Colorado law (CRS 18-12-213), the State of Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permit was issued to a resident of the state issuing the permit, and the permit tee is 21 yrs of age or older, AND the other state recognizes Colorado permits as valid in their state. Hence, a “yes” in the following table also indicates that a valid Colorado permit is recognized in that state, subject to their laws. When traveling with a Colorado permit, it is advisable to contact the state you are visiting to confirm reciprocity and to review that state’s firearms laws.

The state of Colorado no longer recognizes the validity of any permit issued by any state to a nonresident of that state (see C.R.S 18-12-213 amended 2007), specifically they must be a resident of the state that issued the concealed handgun permit and must be in possession of a valid drivers license or identification card issued by that same state.

This information is also available to Colorado law enforcement through the CCIC system.

Click here to view the current list.

CSU Policies Pertaining to Weapons

CSU Academic Facilities Weapons Policy 

CSU does not allow any dangerous weapons (firearm silencer, machine gun, short shotgun, short rifle, or ballistic knife) as defined by Colorado Revised Statutes on campus.

CSU Residence Life Housing & Dining Weapons Policy

Students shall not carry, possess, use or store weapons (including firearms) in the residence halls or dining facilities. As a condition of living in CSU residence halls or using CSU dining facilities, all students agree not to possess or use any weapons in such areas, to voluntarily waive any legal rights related to the possession of weapons, and acknowledge they are prohibited. This waiver is voluntary, in exchange for living and dining in CSU facilities, and applies to all students, even if they have a lawful permit to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-201 et. seq. This waiver also includes all rights that may be asserted under the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution or Article II, Section 13 of the Colorado Constitution. Any possession or use of any weapon in CSU dining facilities may result in further action under applicable law or University disciplinary procedures. Weapons may be stored at the Colorado State University Police Department. Contact CSUPD at (970) 491-7695 for more information regarding weapon storage.

  • Students may not bring firearms or other weapons (hunting knives, archery, fencing, paintball guns, pellet guns, taser guns, air soft guns, martial arts equipment, slingshot, any item that is a reasonable facsimile, etc.) into the residence halls.
  • Firearms, weapons, or explosives of any nature (including fireworks and flammable liquids) are strictly prohibited in the residence halls.
  • Exotic weapons (such as swords, nunchucks, etc.) are also not permitted on University property and must be stored at the Colorado State University Police Department.

Explosives of any nature, including flammable liquids, fireworks, and ammunition, are not permitted in the residence halls. This includes lighter fluid and Zippo®-type lighters.

Please click here for their specific website.

CSU Apartment Life Weapons Policy

Residents and guests are not allowed to use or store firearms, ammunition or any other weapon to include but not limited to air soft (paint ball, etc.) weapons or decorative swords anywhere within Apartment Life communities. If you have weapons or ammunition, they may be stored at CSU Police Department. Please contact CSU Police for further information, telephone (970) 491-6425.

Apartment Life Concealed Weapons Policy

Resident shall not carry, possess, use or store weapons (including firearms) on the Premises. As a condition of living on the Premises, Resident agrees not to possess or use any weapons on the Premises, to voluntarily waive any legal rights related to the possession of weapons, and acknowledges they are prohibited. This waiver is voluntary, in exchange for living and dining in CSU housing facilities, and applies even if Resident has a lawful permit to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-201 et. seq. This waiver also includes all rights that may be asserted by Resident under the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution or Article II, Section 13 of the Colorado Constitution. Any possession or use of any weapon on the Premises may result in further action under applicable law or University disciplinary procedures. Weapons may be stored at the Colorado State University Police Department. Contact CSUPD at (970) 491-6425 for more information regarding weapon storage.

F.A.Q. Pertaining Weapons

Can I get in trouble if I have a firearm on me will drinking alcohol or under influence of marijuana?

Yes, it is a class 2 misdemeanor to possession a firearm while under the influence of intoxicating liquor or of a controlled substance

What happens if I am caught unlawfully carrying a handgun?

A person who knowingly, unlawfully and without legal authority brings a deadly weapon to campus commits a class six felony. Penalties can range from 1 – 1½ years in prison and a $1,000 – $100,000 fine. Can I get a concealed weapons permit at the CSU Police Department? No. Colorado concealed weapons permits must be issued by a Colorado sheriff.

If I have a concealed weapons permit from another state, is it valid in Colorado?

Pursuant to Colorado law (CRS 18-12-213), the State of Colorado will recognize a valid permit issued in another state IF the permit was issued to a resident of the state issuing the permit, and the permit tee is 21 yrs of age or older, AND the other state recognizes Colorado permits as valid in their state. Hence, a “yes” in the following table also indicates that a valid Colorado permit is recognized in that state, subject to their laws. When traveling with a Colorado permit, it is advisable to contact the state you are visiting to confirm reciprocity and to review that state’s firearms laws.

The state of Colorado no longer recognizes the validity of any permit issued by any state to a nonresident of that state (see C.R.S 18-12-213 amended 2007), specifically they must be a resident of the state that issued the concealed handgun permit and must be in possession of a valid drivers license or identification card issued by that same state.

This information is also available to Colorado law enforcement through the CCIC system.

Click here to view the current list.

My relative, who is a police officer is visiting and I want to show them around the campus. Can they carry their handgun on campus?

They can carry in the academic areas of the campus as long as they conceal their handgun and can provide their police officer credentials.  They are not allow to carry their weapon in the Residence Halls & Dining Center, Apartments, and Health Network Areas.

I have a Colorado concealed weapons permit, do I have to cover my handgun with clothing?

A handgun must always be concealed. It may only be revealed if a person with a concealed weapon permit needs to use the weapon to defend themselves or someone else.

Can I leave my handgun in my car?

Storing a handgun in a vehicle is a safety hazard. It is possible that someone could break into the vehicle and steal the weapon.

Am I allowed to bring a non-working rifle to class for a presentation?

Weapons can be brought to campus for an authorized public demonstration or instruction in conjunction with an organized school or class (Colorado Revised Statute 18-12-105.5). In these situations, the CSU Police Department needs to be informed in advance. Weapons brought for these purposes need to be transported securely and discreetly.

Can I keep my weapon in the residence halls or CSU apartment as long as I don’t carry it on campus?

Students shall not carry, possess, use or store weapons (including firearms) in the residence halls or dining facilities. As a condition of living in CSU residence halls or using CSU dining facilities, all students agree not to possess or use any weapons in such areas, to voluntarily waive any legal rights related to the possession of weapons, and acknowledge they are prohibited. This waiver is voluntary, in exchange for living and dining in CSU facilities, and applies to all students, even if they have a lawful permit to carry a concealed firearm pursuant to C.R.S. 18-12-201 et. seq. This waiver also includes all rights that may be asserted under the Second Amendment to the United States Constitution or Article II, Section 13 of the Colorado Constitution. Any possession or use of any weapon in CSU dining facilities may result in further action under applicable law or University disciplinary procedures. Weapons may be stored at the Colorado State University Police Department. Contact CSUPD at (970) 491-6425 for more information regarding weapon storage.

Students may not bring firearms or other weapons (hunting knives, archery, fencing, paintball guns, pellet guns, taser guns, air soft guns, martial arts equipment, slingshot, any item that is a reasonable facsimile, etc.) into the residence halls.

Firearms, weapons, or explosives of any nature (including fireworks and flammable liquids) are strictly prohibited in the residence halls.

Exotic weapons (such as swords, nunchucks, etc.) are also not permitted on University property and must be stored at the Colorado State University Police Department.

Explosives of any nature, including flammable liquids, fireworks, and ammunition, are not permitted in the residence halls. This includes lighter fluid and Zippo®-type lighters.

What is Colorado State University’s policy on carrying weapons on campus?

CSU does not allow any dangerous weapons (firearm silencer, machine gun, short shotgun, short rifle, or ballistic knife) as defined by Colorado Revised Statutes on campus.

Carrying a concealed handgun is allow on campus except the residence halls and dining centers, and campus apartments when the individual has a valid concealed handgun permit.  The individual must have the handgun concealed and have the permit on their person.

Can I bring a gun on campus?

Individuals carrying concealed handguns must have a lawful Colorado concealed handgun permit issued by a Colorado sheriff in accordance with Colorado Revised Statute 18-12-206. However, concealed handguns may not be carried or stored in the residence halls, CSU apartments, counseling services area, and health network buildings.

It is a class 6 felony to knowingly and unlawfully carry, bring, or possess a deadly weapon on the property of any school, college, or university. 18-12-105.5 (1)