Bicycle Services and Safety
Located at the front desk of Green Hall, the Transportation Education and Enforcement Program - or TEEP - office is responsible for processing payments for moving violation and substance abuse citations issued by CSU police officers. Additionally, the TEEP office maintains the lost and found, provides bicycle registrations, bicycle lock-cuts, bicycle impound services, and weapon locker rentals.
COVID-19 Restricted Hours of Operation: Monday - Friday 11 a.m. to 5 p.m.Phone: (970) 491-7695
All bicycles ridden or parked on any Colorado State University campus must be registered with the CSU Police Department. For more information visit the bicycle registration page.
Our office offers a lock-cutting service during normal business hours for qualified registered bicycles. The cost of this service is $10. To schedule a lock-cut call (970) 491-7695.
If your bike is deemed abandoned, found parked in a forbidden area, found locked to anything other than a bike rack, or impedes disability access your bike may have been impounded. See the rules and regulations booklet. Call our office at (970) 491-7695 if you believe your bike was impounded.
Complete the bike impound request form if you would like to request an impound.
All impounded bikes are held for 90 days before being relinquished to Surplus Property.
Prepare for your ride and earn $10 Ram Cash: Take the CSU Moves training to learn about your local transportation options and key strategies for navigating campus safely and efficiently!
Enforcement and Citation Payment
Wheeled conveyance commuters are expected to follow proper laws, rules, and regulations while on any CSU campus. Failure to do so may result in a citation. See linked resources:
Wheeled conveyance includes, but is not limited to bicycles, scooters, skateboards, roller blades, and all electrical variances.
If you were issued a citation, you have 14 calendar days from the date the citation was issued to pay the fine. Failure to pay will result in doubling of the fine. Delinquent faculty and staff fines will be deducted from paycheck. Delinquent student fines will be billed to student account. All others will be sent to CSU Accounts Receivable for collection.
The fine can be paid in person, over the phone, or by mail. If paying by mail, send check or money order only. Do not send cash.
We will not accept payment in loose coins.
Bicycle Safety Seminar
If you have been charged with a bicycle safety violation, you have the option of attending a bicycle safety seminar through Canvas. Successful completion of the seminar with a passing grade will result in a reduction of 50 percent to your fine. Time commitment is approximately 30 minutes. This offer is available only once per customer.
If you sign up for the seminar, but fail to attend, the original fine will be doubled. You may sign up by phone or in-person at the front desk of the CSU Police Department in Green Hall.
The League of American Bicyclists Bicycle Friendly University Program
The League of American Bicyclists Bicycle Friendly University program recognizes institutions of higher education for promoting and providing a more bikeable campus for students, staff and visitors. Colorado State University has worked its way from being designated silver all the way to the top at Platinum.
The 5 E's
- Engineering: Creating safe and convenient places to ride and park
- Education: Giving people of all ages and abilities the skills and confidence to ride
- Encouragement: Creating a strong bike culture that welcomes and celebrates bicycling
- Enforcement: Ensuring safe roads for all users
- Evaluation & Planning: Planning for bicycling as a safe and viable transportation option
To learn more about bike parking, safe cycling, secured parking, and bike safety visit Transportation Services.