The Colorado State University Police Department maintains close working relationships with all public safety agencies within Larimer County, as well as state and federal law enforcement agencies.

All police officers are state certified through the Colorado Police Officers Standards and Training board and are commissioned by the CSU Board of Governors.

While the department’s primary focus is on safety and security of the CSU campus, CSU Officers also enjoy mutual aid relationships which extend our authority beyond the campus boundaries. Colorado Revised Statute 16-2.5-148

Mutual Aid agreements are in place with both Fort Collins and Larimer County which address contingencies for emergencies including natural disasters, civil disturbances, and major incidents. CRS 29-5-103 and CRS 29-5-104

Additionally, all CSU police officers are commissioned through Fort Collins Police Services and the Larimer County Sheriff’s Office.