Transportation Education and Enforcement Program
Wheeled conveyance commuters*, pedestrians, and residents are expected to follow proper laws, rules, and regulations while on any CSU campus. Failure to do so could result in a citation. In conjunction with our guardian-centric approach to policing, our citations come from our Transportation Education and Enforcement Program (TEEP). TEEP citations include substance abuse and moving violation citations.
When reasonably possible, our officers try to educate students on the dangers of these behaviors rather than writing citations; however, if you are issued a citation, you have 14 days from the date the citation is issued to pay the fine, or the fine will double. Faculty or staff fines that go unpaid will be deducted from your paycheck. Student fines that go unpaid will be billed to your student account, and all other unpaid fines will be sent to CSU Accounts Receivable for collection.
Citation fines can be paid in person, over the phone, or by mail. If paying by mail, send a check or money order only. We will not accept payment in cash or loose coins.
To pay a citation fine in person, you can locate the TEEP office at the front desk of Green Hall. The TEEP office follows the same hours as our front desk, and they also maintain the lost and found, bicycle registration, bicycle lock-cuts, bicycle impound services, and weapon locker rentals.
*Wheeled conveyance includes, but is not limited to bicycles, scooters, skateboards, roller blades, and all electrical variances.
All bicycles ridden or parked on any Colorado State University campus must be registered with the CSU Police Department. For more information visit the bicycle registration page.
Bicycle Safety Seminar
If you receive a TEEP citation for a bicycle safety violation, you have the option of attending a bicycle safety seminar through Canvas. Successful completion of the seminar with a passing grade will result in a reduction of 50 percent to your fine. Time commitment is approximately 30 minutes. This offer is available only once per customer.
If you sign up for the seminar, but fail to attend, the original fine will be doubled. You may sign up by phone or in-person at the front desk of the CSU Police Department in Green Hall.
Our office offers a lock-cutting service during normal business hours for qualified registered bicycles. The cost of this service is $10. To schedule a lock-cut call (970) 491-7695.
If your bike is deemed abandoned, found parked in a forbidden area, found locked to anything other than a bike rack, or impedes disability access your bike may have been impounded. See the rules and regulations booklet. Call our office at (970) 491-7695 if you believe your bike was impounded.
Complete the bike impound request form if you would like to request an impound.
All impounded bikes are held for 25 days before being relinquished to Surplus Property.
The League of American Bicyclists Bicycle Friendly University Program
The League of American Bicyclists Bicycle Friendly University program recognizes institutions of higher education for promoting and providing a more bikeable campus for students, staff and visitors. Colorado State University has worked its way from being designated silver all the way to the top at Platinum.
Colorado State University Police Department supports this program through our guardian-centric approach of enforcement and our free U-Lock program. To learn more about bike parking, safe cycling, secured parking, and bike safety visit Transportation Services.